PC.DEL/473/12 25 May 2012

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 913 Vienna, 24 May 2012

EU statement on the elections in Serbia

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council to the Declaration by the High Representative, Catherine Ashton, on the elections in Serbia, issued 21 May 2012 in Brussels:

"I congratulate President-elect Nikolic on his victory in the Serbian Presidential election yesterday and the Serbian people for the free, fair and peaceful elections.

Let me also commend Mr Tadic for everything he has helped achieve during his time in office, both in European integration and in regional reconciliation. I wish him all the best.

The EU looks forward to the early resumption of work in parliament and the rapid formation of a new government committed to reforms and continued European integration. Serbia needs a strong government and parliamentary majority to achieve the economic progress its people desire and the European integration that they aspire to. Neither is possible without difficult reforms and political courage.

Serbia will succeed only through successful coalition building at home and good relations with its neighbours. Continued dialogue between Belgrade and Pristina remains particularly important.

Finally, I congratulate the OSCE for its successful facilitation of voting in Kosovo, supported by EULEX, KFOR and local actors who helped to ensure a calm and secure environment."

The Acceding Country Croatia^{*}, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia^{*} and Iceland+, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia and Georgia, align themselves with this statement.

* Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.