ENGLISH only



se2009.eu

Swedish Presidency of the European Union

OSCE Forum for Security Co-operation No. 585

Vienna 15 July 2009

EU Statement in response to the presentation on "Women and the Armed Forces - Recruitment,

Promotion and Retention"

European Union (EU) warmly welcomes Brigadier General Karl

Engelbrektsson from the Swedish Armed Forces, and Mrs. Belen Caballud from

the Spanish Ministry of Defence to the FSC and thanks them for their interesting

presentations on "Women and the Armed Forces – Recruitment, Promotion and

Retention".

Adopted in October 2000, The UN Security Council Resolution 1325, was the

first Security Council resolution to address the impact of armed conflict on

women. It reinforces previous international and regional legal commitments and

conventions relevant to women, peace and security and establishes a series of

new principles. UNSCR 1325 calls for increased involvement of women, at all

decision-making levels, in conflict prevention, crisis management and post-

conflict reconstruction. UNSCR 1325 clearly identifies women as important

actors in peace-building and conflict mediation.

We also recall the OSCE Ministerial Council Decision in 2005 to implement the

UNSCR 1325 (2000), "Women, Peace and Security" in all OSCE dimensions.

We furthermore remind participating States of the OSCE Action Plan for Gender Equality.

The European Union has undertaken to promote the role of women in peace building and to enhance the implementation of United Nations Resolutions in its external actions in that area.

Finally, the EU attaches great importance to the "Handbook on Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms of Armed Forces Personnel", which explores different models and good practices regarding women's participation in the Armed Forces.

The candidate countries TURKEY, CROATIA* and FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries ALBANIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, MONTENEGRO and SERBIA, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area ICELAND and NORWAY, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, ARMENIA and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

*Croatia and Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.