PC.DEL/153/10 11 March 2010

**ENGLISH** 

Original: FRENCH

## STATEMENT BY THE EUROPEAN UNION AT THE 797th MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

11 March 2010

## On the occasion of the Sixth European Day on Remembrance of the Victims of Terrorism

Six years ago today, on 11 March 2004, the worst terrorist attacks ever perpetrated on European soil took place in Madrid. Subsequently, 11 March was proclaimed the European Day on Remembrance of the Victims of Terrorism.

For the European Union (EU), this day is an opportunity to pay tribute to those who lost their lives in terrorist attacks committed in Europe and elsewhere in the world, and to the persons who still bear the physical and psychological scars of these tragic events. We reiterate our unfailing solidarity and deep sympathy with all victims of terrorism and their families and loved ones.

While it is obvious that nothing can ever assuage their suffering, the EU strives to provide assistance to the victims and their families and loved ones, mainly by helping them to finance projects designed to improve the living conditions of the victims and by vigorously promoting solidarity with them.

The EU will unstintingly pursue its fight against terrorism with full respect for international law, in particular human rights, refugee law and international humanitarian law, in accordance with the four strands of its counter-terrorism strategy: prevent, protect, pursue, respond. We will continue our prevention efforts, and our protection efforts, in order to prevent innocent people from becoming victims of terrorist acts that can never be justified; we will continue our efforts to pursue terrorists, in order to render justice to their victims; we will continue our efforts to respond, mainly by coming to the aid of the victims and their loved ones.

The candidate countries Turkey, Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia\*, the Stabilisation and Association Process countries and potential candidate countries Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia, align themselves with this statement.

PCOEW3076

<sup>\*</sup> Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.