ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1285 Vienna, 15 October 2020

EU Statement on recent developments in Kyrgyzstan

The European Union continues to closely follow the situation since the 4 October parliamentary elections in the Kyrgyz Republic.

We took note of the invalidation of the election results by the Central Electoral Commission of the Kyrgyz Republic and of the resignation of the President. The transfer of presidential powers from the Speaker of the Parliament to the Prime Minister raise questions about the preservation of the separation of powers.

We call for an inclusive dialogue across the political spectrum and new, free and fair parliamentary and presidential elections in line with international standards and under ODIHR's observation. We fully support the democratic right of the Kyrgyz people to cast their vote free from any interference or malpractice.

We call on all political forces in the country to act within the framework of the Constitution and to settle their disagreements peacefully. We call on all political forces to honour Kyrgyzstan's adherence to all OSCE principles and commitments, i.a. freedom of the media, freedom of expression, freedom of peaceful assembly, and rights of persons belonging to minorities.

We echo, and fully support, the call of the OSCE Chairmanship in Office for dialogue across the political spectrum, to ensure stability and avoid further violence in the country, as well as the call of the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions

and Human Rights to respect and guarantee the Kyrgyz people's right to peaceful demonstration.

The European Union has consistently supported Kyrgyzstan's democratic path since the country's independence and remains committed to the Kyrgyz people and to the future democratic development of the country.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND and LIECHTENSTEIN, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process