

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe The Representative on Freedom of the Media

Transatlantic High-Level Working Group on Online Content Moderation and Freedom of Expression

10:30 – 13:00 on 18 November 2019 Neuersaal, Hofburg, Vienna

BIOGRAPHIES OF EXPERT PANEL



The Honorable **Michael Chertoff** (Steering Committee) is the Executive Chairman and Co-Founder of The Chertoff Group, a global advisory services firm that applies security expertise, technology insights and policy intelligence to help clients build resilient organizations, gain competitive advantage and accelerate growth. In this role, he counsels global clients on how to effectively manage cyber risk while incorporating a proper mix of people, process, and technology to achieve their security goals. From 2005 to 2009, Chertoff served as Secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Earlier in his career, Chertoff served as a federal judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit and head of the U.S. Department of Justice's Criminal Division. He is the author of the recently published book *Exploding Data: Reclaiming Our Cybersecurity in the Digital Age*.



The Honorable Eileen Donahoe is Executive Director of the Global Digital Policy Incubator at Stanford University. Donahoe served as U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Human Rights Council in Geneva during the Obama Administration. After leaving government she was Director of Global Affairs at Human Rights Watch where she represented the organization worldwide on human rights foreign policy. She serves on the National Endowment for Democracy Board of Directors; Dartmouth College Board of Trustees; University of Essex Human Rights, Big Data and Technology Advisory Board; Benetech Human Rights Advisory Board; Freedom Online Coalition Advisory Network. Earlier in her career she was a technology litigator at Fenwick & West in Silicon Valley. She holds a BA from Dartmouth; MTS from Harvard; a joint JD/MA (East Asian Studies) from Stanford; PhD in Ethics and Social Theory from the GTU Cooperative Program with UC Berkeley. She is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.



The Honorable **Susan Ness**, Founder and Co-Chair of the Transatlantic High-Level Working Group on Content Moderation and Freedom of Expression; Project Director, is a Distinguished Fellow at the Annenberg Public Policy Center and a former member of the U.S. Federal Communications Commission. She is also a Distinguished Fellow at the German Marshall Fund of the United States. Previously, Ness was a Senior Fellow with the SAIS Center for Transatlantic Relations of the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies. She is the head of Susan Ness Strategies, a communications policy consulting firm, and is a member of the board of directors of TEGNA, a broadcast and digital media company (TGNA-NYSE). She also serves on the board of Vital Voices Global Partnership, an NGO that identifies emerging women leaders around the world and assists them to achieve their mission.



Barbora Bukovská (Steering Committee) has been Article 19's Director for Law and Policy since 2009. She heads the development of all Article 19 policies and provides legal oversight and support across the organization. Bukovská has extensive experience working with organizations on human rights issues, including protection from discrimination, access to justice, deprivation of liberty, reproductive rights and community development. She also initiated 50 cases at the European Court of Human Rights on these issues and has published many reports and articles on human rights. From 2006 to 2008, she was the Legal Director at the Mental Disability Advocacy Centre, international organization working on the rights of people with disabilities in Europe and Central Asia. Bukovská graduated from the Law School of Charles University in Prague and earned a doctorate in law in Slovakia and an LLM from Harvard Law School. From 1998 to 1999, she was a visiting scholar at the Columbia University Law School in New York.



Professor Dr Nico van Eijk is a Professor of Media and Telecommunications Law in the Faculty of Law at the University of Amsterdam and Director of the Institute for Information Law (IViR). He studied Law at the University of Tilburg and received his doctorate on government interference with broadcasting from the University of Amsterdam. Van Eijk is the Chairman of the Dutch Federation for Media and Communications Law (VMC), chairman of a committee on Paid Electronic Information Services of The Social and Economic Council of the Netherlands (SER), member of the "knowledge circle" of the Dutch Review Committee on the Intelligence and Security Services (CTIVD) and member of the Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen (KHMW).



Harlem Désir was appointed as the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media in July 2017. Prior to this position, Désir was French Minister of State for European Affairs, attached to the Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development, since April 2014. He was a Member of the European Parliament for three consecutive terms from 1999 to 2014. Désir was a member of the Committee on Industry, Energy and Research, the Employment and Social Affairs and the Committee on Development. He was also Vice-President of the Delegation for relations with the United States (2002-2004), a member of the Joint ACP-EU Parliamentary Assembly (2002-2009), and a member of the Delegation for relations with India (2009-2014). Désir holds a bachelor's degree in philosophy from the Paris I Sorbonne University. He has been awarded the Olof Palme Prize, the Grand Cross of the Order of the Phoenix, and the Knight Commander's Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.