

Daily Report 54/2022

7 March 2022¹

Summary

- The Mission completed its temporary evacuation of international mission members from the Mission's area of operations.
- National mission members are undertaking administration of the Mission's premises and assets in anticipation of a return to operations in Ukraine.
- The SMM has suspended its reporting activities.

SMM evacuation

On 7 March, the SMM completed its temporary evacuation of international mission members from the Mission's area of operations, pursuant to the instruction of the OSCE Secretary General and Chairmanship of 24 February.

These evacuation activities promptly commenced on 25 February. International mission members from each of the ten SMM Monitoring Teams (Kherson, Odessa, Lviv, Ivano-Frankivsk, Kharkiv, Donetsk, Dnipro, Chernivtsi, Luhansk, and Kyiv) were withdrawn as soon as safety and security requirements were satisfied. Extraction of staff from the Kherson and Kharkiv Monitoring Teams, particularly, and from two Forward Patrol Bases was delayed by fighting, and the need to plan evacuation routes carefully and effect the necessary liaison. All international staff bar two – who chose to remain in the country – have now been evacuated via Moldova, Romania, and the Russian Federation.

Concurrently, the SMM has also been facilitating relocation within Ukraine of national mission members on their request, assisting them with transport and shelter wherever possible, including SMM vehicles and SMM premises. On 1 March, the Mission received reports that one of its national mission members in Kharkiv, Ms. Maryna Fenina, was killed near her home as a result of shelling.

The Chief Monitor and senior management relocated from Kyiv to a temporary base in western Ukraine on 26 February. They remained in the country throughout the evacuation process and were the final convoy of international mission members to leave Ukraine, crossing into Moldova on 7 March.

¹ Based on information from the Monitoring Teams as of 16:00, 6 March 2022. All times are in Eastern European Time. The SMM is deployed to ten locations throughout Ukraine – Kherson, Odessa, Lviv, Ivano-Frankivsk, Kharkiv, Donetsk, Dnipro, Chernivtsi, Luhansk and Kyiv – as per Permanent Council Decision 1117 of 21 March 2014.

With the completion of this temporary evacuation, the SMM suspends its reporting activities but retains its facilities and assets in anticipation of a return to operations in Ukraine. These facilities and assets remain the property of the OSCE. National mission members remain employees of the SMM and are undertaking administration of these premises and assets in the interim.